GR Digital III – A Serious Compact

In case you have been wondering why my GRD III review has been delayed that much, this is to do with me being quite busy recently but also because I want to make it a very extensive review that should hopefully answer all questions regarding all three GRDs.

Another reason is that I have been working on a project for Ricoh. They have asked me to make a book for the GRD III. This was a great project and I am really happy to have had the opportunity to work on this.
Now that the book is finished and printed, I thought I will upload it so you can have a look and see the book. It looks fantastic in print and it shows why looking at pictures on screen is not the best way to appreciate them.

You can see the full book here.
Now you can also order the book on Blurb by clicking here.

The full book is quite big so you might have to wait a bit for the pages to load for the first time. To be able to read the text you have to click on 1:1. If you have problms with the loading times let me know and I will reduce the size of the pages so it loads faster.

One other thing I am very happy about is that Ricoh has chosen a few pictures from my book to print a big poster and advertise the GRD III at Foto-Koch, the biggest camera store in Düsseldorf and the place I bought my very first Ricoh GRD I over 5 years ago.


In the meantime if you want to read some excellent reviews on the GRD III have a look at Carl’s review and also at Wouter’s review. Both have done a fantastic job with their reviews.

4 responses to “GR Digital III – A Serious Compact

  1. Very interesting, but à lot rumors at this moment about this new ricoh ! however news on the 10 november :)

  2. Thanks, the rumors were all interesting but in the end Ricoh managed to surprise all of us and announced something completely different.

  3. Christian:

    Thanks for this wonderful booklet. I was wondering, however, how you use the DR mode to take double exposures? When I snap the picture and I move to take the next one but the movement blurs the picture. How do you pull that double exposure trick off? Thanks in advance for your assistance.

    Sincerely,
    Fanon

    • Hi Fanon,

      Thanks for your comment, glad you like the book .

      Making the double exposures is a bit tricky since you need to move the camera quite fast so it only really works in good light. The camera is slow enough at taking the 2nd picture so you can get good results after learning how long it takes exactly and when you can move it after the first shot.

      Best is to listen for the shutter noise and move as soon as you hear the first click sound.

      I still hope Ricoh will take on my suggestion and allow the user to press the shutter the 2nd time when ready so thsi will become a real double exposure mode.

      Hope it helps.

      Cristian

Leave a Reply

